A Secular Psalm

For an assignment in creative nonfiction I had to piece phrases together from separate works to create a somewhat cohesive narrative. I thought I’d try combining a few lines from hymns with modern lyrics that allude to faith.

secular-pslam

The 1975 – If I Believe You

The Avett Brothers – True Sadness

JAY Z, Kanye West, Frank Ocean – No Church In The Wild

Bon Iver – 666 ʇ

Mumford & Sons – The Cave

Robert Robinson – Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing

Twenty One Pilots – Heavydirtysoul

The Killers – All These Things That I’ve Done

Bon Iver – 33 “GOD”

The Killers – Read My Mind

Linkin Park – What I’ve Done

Augustus Montague – Rock of Ages

Chance The Rapper – How Great

Cage The Elephant – Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked

Chance The Rapper, T-Pain – Finish Line / Drown

Charitie Lees Bancroft – Before the Throne of God Above

Twenty One Pilots – Car Radio

Mumford & Sons – Awake My Soul

John Newton – Amazing Grace

Leave a Reply

